Tuesday, October 7, 2014

High Priestess Phyllis Curott "The Blossoming of Wicca" (video)

Great video by our featured guest on The New Age Review Samhain Special: Practicing attorney, Wiccan high priestess, founder of the Temple of Ara and the international best selling author of Book of Shadows, WitchCrafting and The Love Spell: Phyllis Currot.  Join us October 31st at 9PM ET / 6PM PT on  The New Age Review Samhain Special and learn all about Wicca, the holiday of Samhain, the crisis of global change and the call of the Goddess!

Sunday, October 5, 2014

Lost and Found: Saying Goodbye to an Old Friend

Today marks the one year anniversary of a good friend's passing. And I have been thinking of him even though our friendship ended many years ago.

We said goodbye apparently for good in 1984 when he was making plans to leave the area and I was making plans to marry someone else.

Naturally, a great deal has happened in the intervening years.  So it's not surprising, or in anyway indicative of my feelings, that it had been a long time since I'd thought of those days at all.

But three weeks ago I had a dream.  And my friend Tim was the leading character.  He was young and handsome in the dream and taller than I remembered.  There was a remarkable brightness about him.  And I know that kind of brightness.

He looked different but I recognized his energy.  Sensing it as if I was standing next him, stepping back in time to re-experience the soul vibration of a person I once loved.

In the dream, we met by chance.  I was living alone in a big sunny apartment and he was working at a nearby market.  We bumped into each other at his work and he asked if he could see me. Later on, standing in my dream apartment he told me he'd wanted to contact me before but that he was afraid that doing so would stir up old half-forgotten feelings. 

And then he explained what he had felt so very long ago and the hows and whys of what he did, and didn't, do.  The information was new  but surprisingly coherent, fitting in neatly with events I had wondered about but not fully understood as they occurred.  Seeing our history in this new light changed things.  I no longer felt responsible.  My old remorse lifted. It was obvious to me, even in the dream, that Tim had come to lift that load.

After we had finished talking, we set out together on a wide boardwalk with long strings of golden lights on either side.  There was some kind of festival happening around us and I was happy in a way I'd almost forgotten.  I told him that he was right about the emotion.  "I can feel it," I said. "Can you?"

He didn't answer or if he did, I don't remember.  There was a knowing that our time was ending and that he had brought me back to where I was supposed to be.  When I woke up and considered the brilliance and the clarity of the dream, I knew that he had passed. 

I told my partner about the dream and what I thought it meant and then I pulled my laptop into bed and found the obituary online.  Tim's picture (above) showed the same beautiful smile I'd loved so long ago.  I saw that he had died in a hospice at the age of 53.  I was sad that I didn't know, that I couldn't have been there to help, but I was grateful to know that he had made it through okay.

Closing my laptop, it occurred to me, not for the first time, how multidimensional every act of spirit is.  In this instance a single dream had affected everyone involved.  I was lighter, more forgiving of my past, and stronger than I had been.  My partner had opened the door of skepticism if only by a crack.  And Tim had made amends.

Thank you for remembering me, as I remember you.

*To read about my first big dream of spirit please see "Dreams the Wandering Soul."

*Please note: This post has been temporarily moved to the top of the blog for the benefit of my good friend Marie :)

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Stairway to Heaven?


I'm not sure if this is the easiest way to see the heavens but I like the image.  It makes sense to me too - on a couple of levels.

This morning I woke up feeling really ill which may explain how hard the last couple of days have been. But it doesn't explain everything and the truth is that I have felt like I've been going against the current for some time now. 

I think that I might need some spiritual space so I've decided to take a break from the manuscript and  radio show and metaphysical group and just be for a while.

I won't be taking on any new classes or projects but will still be posting here, going to spirit circle and learning on my own - as always. I have never been a quitter (not even when I probably should be) but I'm hoping this break will provide some insight. 

Or time to get a few things done and enjoy Autumn :)

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

The Energy of Nature

I'm currently working with two books:  Phillip Carr-Gomm's Druid Mysteries and Penny Billington's The Path of Druidry.  Both are wonderful and I will be reviewing each of them when I get a little further along.  I will say now that both are practical as well as spiritual and I am following Penny's suggestions to the letter by getting in better touch with the land around my home.  

The following pictures are taken on the top of the mountain behind our house, on a small parcel of woods that lies between us and the development.  If I could have one thing it would be to buy it and keep it as is forever.

Bella at the top.

Birch behind a turning maple.
A perfect Autumn sky.

Monday, September 22, 2014

Welcome Autumn 2014!

Today on the equinox, day and night are equal.  But that isn't going to last.  The days are getting shorter.  Winter is on its way.  Today I saw a hawk flying in the most vivid of blue skies.  Two crows called - a winter sound if I ever heard one.  Life is always moving.  Always on its way to something else.  But there is something to be said for the moment, even as it passes. 

Today I realized that I always think of autumn in the context of a world on its way to winter.  For me that is not a bad thing - at least not entirely.  Winter is an uncomfortable season here in Northeastern PA but it is a beautiful one as well and it has a depth to it that other seasons lack.  Still this time, this season should be important in its own right and I should honor it as such.

So today I sat out side and thought about the turning trees, the falling leaves, the woodland debris on its way to becoming earth.  Summer seeding the land in a different sort of way.  Not sprouting but preparing.  Today the sky was blue and the sun was bright and I sat outside with my journal and mapped out a new course. 

This course includes more time out of doors and I intend to honor that commitment through the cold months and into spring.  As always I will blog about it <3

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Understanding our Beautiful Seasons

I just wanted to share this helpful diagram to remind us the natural science behind our amazing changing seasons!


Thursday, September 18, 2014

Tarot Reading: Druidcraft and Wildwood Combined Reading

This reading uses two of my favorite decks: the Druid Craft Tarot and the Wildwood.  I am going in a new direction, both in my writing and within the greater context of my spiritual experience and this reading addresses that.  I love everything about both these decks and they are great learning tool as well.  Note the Hermit (9) and wolf, Cerridwen as strength, the owl of Justice and the ship, very like the one I dreamt of recently, leaving my troubles far behind!

Monday, September 8, 2014

Full Moon in Pisces!

One thing I love about working late - the moon rising in the sky outside my office window.  This month's full moon is found in one of my favorite signs - Pisces.  Though by the time I snapped this pic it had already made its way into Aries.  Beautiful either way.




Friday, September 5, 2014

Astral Projection Update: Problems with Awareness

I'm currently taking a wonderful course on Astral Projection (Astral Projection Practical Intensive) and wanted to share a bit on my progress.  We are currently in Session 3 and, while I have not projected as of yet, I do feel I'm progressing. 

The course is given by OBE expert Robert Bruce.  It utilizes Robert ebook (free on his site at AstralDynamics.com) as well as the Hemi-Sync astral projection meditation CDs/MP3s produced by Robert Monroe.  Each session begins with several videos, as well as some text and recommended reading on the new material, and assigns a new and very specific level of astral practice.

All practices include daily energy work followed by the Hemi-Sync Meditation.  I am now using the second (or condition A) MP3 meditation and have been having some interesting experiences.  These include lots of tingling sensations, occasional feelings of expansion, and a few visions.  The visions have been interesting because they have been consistent.  I have seen archways, tunnels, roads, paths and a kind of moving tunnel where it appeared that I was rocketing through space with energy streaming by on either side.

My current challenge is that I'm going very deep in trance with the meditations and losing my awareness at times - though I don't really feel like I'm falling asleep. Yesterday I lost awareness and then became aware of being around people - which made me feel that I was dreaming.  In the dream, I was yelling "I want to fly" over and over. :) I did used to fly in dreams but haven't done so for some time.  Seems I might have missed it.

I feel very alert when I come back from these episodes of lost awareness (or checking / clicking out), not sleepy at all.  What worried me was the memory loss. I was concerned that I might be missing actual OBE activity or rather failing to remember it.  Robert believes we all astral project in dreams (for more on Robert's teachings please check out his interview on this topic here Astral Projection with Robert Bruce) and that the real challenge is to remember it.  

One of the great things about this course (and all the Glide Wing courses) is the forum component.  In it the instructor responds to questions on the material.  In a course like this is incredibly helpful.  Because of my concerns, I posted my problem with awareness  in the forum.

Robert got back to me immediately.  He said that these were good signs and that success should not be too far away.  He also recommended several things which I'm going to put into effect today.  They include:
  1. Increasing my slight discomfort level by using a hard backed chair against the wall with a small pillow to support my neck (and small footstool if needed).
  2. Restarting the CD if I do check / click out and repeating the  meditation.
  3. Getting adequate sleep.
  4. Continuing my practice daily.
Robert also has been encouraging me to utilize daily affirmations which he believes in whole-heatedly (more on that in the interview).  This isn't hard because I really do believe that I will successfully project provided I stick with it.  

I am getting so much out of this course!  I am also thrilled that when it ends I can be part of Robert's free community (Astral Dynamics Forum) and receive the support of others.  There is even a new special area for graduates of the course which I am really looking forward to joining!

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Practical Clairvoyance: Deciding on the Right Side of the Brain

When I began my courses at The International School of Clairvoyance I had more questions than about clairvoyant training than I did answers.  I know that I wanted to increase my clairvoyant abilities, obviously, but I wasn't really sure what I would do with these abilities once I had them.  

Did I want to work professionally as a clairvoyant reader?  If not, what purpose would developing my abilities serve?

I am still not sure about the professional part but I do feel that I have answered the other question.  I now know that there are a lot of different ways to use my developing psychic sight.  In healing, for example, and manifestation work.  And, perhaps most significantly, in making important life path choices.

I have always worked with divine light and color in my (non) professional healing work and the class has certainly helped with that.  And in manifestation work as well.  When I manifest, I build my dreams both visually and through affirmations, creating on the causal plan things which will eventually manifest in this world.  I'm better at doing that then I was before.  I'm glad of that.  But this post is not about those applications.  It is about the making of decisions - on the right side of our brains.

I make most of my decisions there already, it's true.  I know what to do next without knowing exactly how I know.  I know what to do because a certain course of action makes me uncomfortable or excited.  I know what to do because of dreams, my morning soul writing (or journaling), or my other forms of writing.  Through telepathic communication with my guides.  Via hypnogogic images.  Or meditative visions.  Except that now I can plug into those visions when I choose. And that can be very, very helpful.

Case in point.  A few weeks ago, I asked about my writing.  I was trying to decide if I should write spiritual non-fiction or creative spiritual non-fiction or the plain up fantasy fiction I once loved. If you read this blog on a regular basis you know that I have been stuck in this question for some time.  Though you may not have been aware of the enormous toll being stuck was taking.

I was frustrated because my ordinary means of getting info were at odds.  My gut wasn't crazy about spiritual non-fiction, true, but in the context of things that I feel unworthy of my gut has been known to err.  My dreams and meditations  were urging me to communicate, certainly, but not saying exactly how.  I loved blogging but somehow knew that there is was more.  My soul writing was saying fiction.  Telepathically I was getting a lot of direct text for non.  I was torn.

So I decided to ask spirit for a clairvoyant vision.  The first vision I received was a bright blue high heeled shoe.  Okay, I thought, write with style.  Makes sense.  But not an answer.  The second vision was of a book.  An old suede covered book with soft yellow pages.  It was opened at the half way mark and as I watched I saw that it was being pulled into two halves, strings stretchering and finally breaking to form two individual volumes.

I am torn, I interpreted, as I thought.  But from that tension - two books instead of one.  Or at least that is my guess.  Which does, in fact, make sense within the context of the seemingly contradictory info I have been getting from my other sources.  So much sense that the idea of two book is, I think, correct.  Something I didn't know until right here, right now as I wrote this paragraph.  

Two books.  One fiction.  One non.  And so it is decided.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Astral Projection: Great Live Interview with OBE Expert Robert Bruce!!!

Listen to the New Age Review!

Listen in to this wonderful interview with the author of Astral Dynamics, Mastering Astral Projection,  Energy Work, and The Practical Psychic Self Defense Handbook Robert Bruce! Robert is the instructor of the course I am currently taking Astral Dynamics Practical Intensive taught through GlideWing.com. Please check back for more on this wonderful course of study!

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Catch Astral Projection Expert Robert Bruce Tomorrow Night (Live)!

Meet astral projectionist, author and teacher Robert Bruce live on The New Age Review radio show Wednesday August 27th at 9PM ET / 6PM PT!!!  

Robert is the author of the best-selling book, Astral Dynamics, a gifted teacher and mystic and one of the world's foremost experts in astral projection.  His other books include Mastering Astral Projection,  Energy Work, and The Practical Psychic Self Defense Handbook

Robert teaches through his website AstralDynamics.com as well as through GlideWing.com - where I am currently studying.  He has taught at the Monroe institute and other workshops world-wide.


Call in at (347) 989-1040 with your questions for Robert.  We will also take chat questions as time allows!

Monday, August 25, 2014

Happy Birthday to Us!


Friday was the fourth birthday of my old friend, this blog.  The blog was born on the same day as I was - August 22.   It was inspired by my need to focus on anything really which at that point in time happened to be New Age spirituality.  My first entry was on Eckhart Tolle and I share that post below in full for anyone whose interested.

The blog made a difference in my life.  It listened when no one else could.  Never judging.  Always available.  And it did, indeed, help me focus.  Over time, it became a bridge between my steadily expanding world and a long list of others.  The blog led me to books and courses and workshops and people.  It allowed me to share what I was learning and in so doing in some small part repay the debt I owed others - for the wisdom they so freely shared with me.

The blog became a channel for my own spiritual experience and it in turn helped me to define that experience.  As I followed that current I learned things I did not expect to learn.  And that continues till this day.   Finally, I think, it has led me back to the place I most need to be.  

I was poet when I was young and then, for the most part, life took over.  In the late nineties and early 2000s however things changed.   I wrote a series of manuscripts.  Born of my own strong need to escape disappointment and personal tragedy they were wild, impassioned and ultimately flawed - though not perhaps irretrievably.  But the writing of them taught me a few things about the craft writing.  And my work here has taught me too.

I am now following the wisdom of another not so New Age writer, Ray Bradbury.  He was born on August 22nd and his writing is sharp and poetic and filled with passion.  Perhaps because we share a birthday, his writing method appeals to me and I have promised myself that I will take the advice he gives in Zen in the Art of Writing: Essays on Creativity and write 1000 non-blog words per day.

These words and the time it takes to write them have to come from somewhere and I may be cutting back on things.  Less workshops.  Less radio episodes.  Less down time.  But I will still be here every week for as long as I can type, paying my debt to those who have inspired me and those who care to read what I have written - and to my old friend The New Age Review as well.

Eckhart Tolle: A Short Bio  August 22nd, 2010

I don't read a lot of best sellers or New Age books and have definitely not read a book that spanned both those categories but I am reading Eckhart Tolle.  His book A New Earth is on my night table.  It  has a bright orange cover with a wrapper full of text about an Oprah / Eckhart web event.  And it brings with it a sense of possibility I had just about forgotten. 

I first saw and heard of Eckhart Tolle just last night on public access TV. It was almost 3 a.m. on the morning of my birthday and I couldn't sleep and I eventually found myself on the couch watching late night TV.  Surfing through the channels, I paused at Eckhart Tolle because I liked his voice.

A peaceful voice is a welcome thing on a sleepless night and I liked Tolle's lilt and his ill-fitting peasant vest and hobbit-like demeanor. He talked about spaciousness, attachment to objects and enlightenment. All of interest to me.  And he did not seem to take himself especially seriously which I find appealing in just about anyone.

Curious, I researched Tolle on the internet.  I learned that he was born in 1948 and had an unhappy childhood in the shadow of post-war Germany. He later relocated to Spain then England where he attended the University of London. He completed his post graduate work in 1977. I am not clear on his area of study.

Also in 1977, following years of depression, anxiety and spiritual seeking he underwent a self described spiritual transformation. Following this transformation, he lived with friends at a Buddhist monastery or slept on the open ground of Hampstead Heath in a state of peace and contentment. Following or during this period he began to provide spiritual instruction to individuals and small groups in England.

He found himself compelled to move to the North American West Coast in 1995 and has stated that the energy of northwest Canada made it possible for him to write a book he couldn't have wrote in England. That book, the Power of Now, was published in 1999. Other books followed, including "A New Earth" which I am surprised to find myself reading.

I have been meaning to start a blog for some time thinking that, perhaps, if I make a commitment to review a book I will finish it.  I have fallen into a bad habit lately of wandering away from them.  So this is the blog, please wish me luck with it.

Please check back soon. New articles are posted every week!