Thursday, October 23, 2014

Lakshmi: Goddess of Prosperity & the New Moon in Scorpio

Tonight marks the Hindu festival of Diwali.  The festival of light which honors the goddess of prosperity, Lakshmi.  

I have an affinity for Hindu goddesses (and still bear the scar given me by a top heavy metalwork Kali!).  Because of this affinity I have a beautiful Lakshmi statue but I have never properly honored her.  And until this week was woefully ignorant of her festival.

I consider it significant that I learned about the holiday just before it occurred on tonight's super auspicious new moon in Scorpio / solar eclipse Thursday.  Timing is everything when it comes synchronicity and this kind of timing is too tight to ignore.

I learned about the festival yesterday afternoon.  I was reading Ellen Dugan's wonderful book "Practical Prosperity Magic" and there was Lakshmi.  Lady of the white owl.  Goddess of the white elephant.  Floating upon the water in her lotus blossom.  Offering gifts.  

How could I not give her the altar she so deserves?

My Lakshmi Altar: Includes offering of sweets, cash, red and gold theme, owl, white elephant and water.
About Tonight's New Moon:  Tonight's New Moon in Scorpio is particularly potent New Moon because it occurs on the evening of a Solar Eclipse.  It represents a new beginning in the fixed water sign of Scorpio. It's a great time to manifest the passionate, focused, resourceful and transformative qualities of this powerful sign.  And to ask the water goddess Lakshmi to open the gates to the flowing current of abundance and prosperity.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

The Winds of Change: Being True to Myself

Enchanted Apple: Edward J. Detmold
I have been slowing changing direction and soon this change will be reflected here in the blog.  I began my spiritual path a very long time ago in response to my own direct spiritual experiences.  This has not changed.

I never set out in a given spiritual direction due to any kind of calculation or left brain sort of decision.  Instead I followed the direct guidance of spirit - wherever I believed that it led.

This makes for a zig-zaggy path at times.  Not because spirit is in any way inconsistent or capricious but because interpreting the sometimes cryptic, sometimes symbolic language of the otherside is an art that we all get wrong from time to time. 

My path began in early childhood with experiences that included a mystical connection with nature, totem encounters and a relationship with my guide (Arthur).  I had a clear sense of the energy of others - both living and dead - throughout my life.  I developed a fascination with witches while still in grade school and sometimes imagined that I was a witch.

As I got older I heard 'ghosts,' had premonitions, vivid dreams and visions.  The vision I remember best from that time happened when I was seventeen years old.  It wasn't an easy vision but it was very clear.  It had to do with the destruction of sacred grove and the people who mourned that loss - I understood those people to be druids - though I wasn't quite sure what that meant. 

Other experiences were to follow - experiences with divination, mediumship, nature spirits, the dreams I have recounted here and a few I have not.  Of particular interest to me was the vivid and coherent dream that encouraged me to research my family tree and a dream of a goddess I knew little about.  Each of these dreams led back both were otherworldly in nature.

The New Age movement offers an open and very interesting approach to spirituality.  And I have learned things through my New Age studies, I would not have learned anywhere else.  But the truth is that my path isn't really a new one.  It is quite old.  And so I will renaming this blog for the second time.  I have not thought of that name yet but it will come to me soon.

I will be changing the format a bit as well.  I will still be writing about astrology, divination, dreams, psychic development, mediumship and my metaphysical studies but I'll be writing about other things too.

I started this blog because I needed a place to keep myself on track and that hasn't changed.  Because that hasn't changed however the content will, of necessity, shift.  I will be writing more about earth based religion, more about my herb garden and the study of herbs, more about my home and the crafts that I work with, more about nature and the environment and my fiction writing.  More about what makes me the person I most want to be.

There is a part of me that wants to be conventional and main stream and under the radar but I have to say honestly that this part is not best of me and I won't let it dictate my actions.  I have never been a timid person at heart and I won't start being so now.

I hope that the new format and name will be as interesting to my readers as the old and that you will be continue this journey with me.  And I hope that my friends in the New Age community will not be put off.  

Either way I must, as always, be true to myself.

And if anyone has an idea for a new, more appropriate name for this blog - please do feel free to share it below!

Monday, October 20, 2014

Health Healing & Wellness Expo This Weekend!

Join me for a great local event in Wilkes-Barre PA this weekend!

The Health Healing & Wellness Expo at the Woodlands Inn features 40 booths offering essential oils, psychic readings, massage therapy, crystals and gemstones, reflexology and more - as well as lectures on wellness topics, essential oils and Chinese astrology!

This is a great opportunity to support a new and growing local event and learn more about what our area has to offer.  The show is organized by owner of Inner Peace Health Healing and Wellness Donna Will who appeared on the New Age Review Radio Show last year (below) and should be lots of fun!

Donna's center - Inner Peace - is a wonderful place, offering holistic health care, psychic development classes and more.  I encourage anyone within driving distance to check out both Inner Peace and this very promising expo - this weekend Sunday October 26!

For more about the expo and to learn how you can get a table please visit InnerPeaceHHW.com.  To learn more about Donna and her journey in healing please check out my interview with her below: 

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

The Enchanted Apple Tree

Enchanted Apple Tree by Edward J. Detmol

As Phillip Carr-Gom points out in his wonderful book DruidCraft - the attitude of earth based religions toward the apple tree is very different from that of the bible.  And I have always felt a great affinity for apple trees.  I've planted two in my side yard close by my herb garden and am working to learn how to care for them properly.  I hope to write more about trees in the weeks and months to come - in regard to their energy and symbolism as well as their cultivation!

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

High Priestess Phyllis Curott "The Blossoming of Wicca" (video)

Great video by our featured guest on The New Age Review Samhain Special: Practicing attorney, Wiccan high priestess, founder of the Temple of Ara and the international best selling author of Book of Shadows, WitchCrafting and The Love Spell: Phyllis Currot.  Join us October 31st at 9PM ET / 6PM PT on  The New Age Review Samhain Special and learn all about Wicca, the holiday of Samhain, the crisis of global change and the call of the Goddess!

Sunday, October 5, 2014

Lost and Found: Saying Goodbye to an Old Friend

Today marks the one year anniversary of a good friend's passing. And I have been thinking of him even though our friendship ended many years ago.

We said goodbye apparently for good in 1984 when he was making plans to leave the area and I was making plans to marry someone else.

Naturally, a great deal has happened in the intervening years.  So it's not surprising, or in anyway indicative of my feelings, that it had been a long time since I'd thought of those days at all.

But three weeks ago I had a dream.  And my friend Tim was the leading character.  He was young and handsome in the dream and taller than I remembered.  There was a remarkable brightness about him.  And I know that kind of brightness.

He looked different but I recognized his energy.  Sensing it as if I was standing next him, stepping back in time to re-experience the soul vibration of a person I once loved.

In the dream, we met by chance.  I was living alone in a big sunny apartment and he was working at a nearby market.  We bumped into each other at his work and he asked if he could see me. Later on, standing in my dream apartment he told me he'd wanted to contact me before but that he was afraid that doing so would stir up old half-forgotten feelings. 

And then he explained what he had felt so very long ago and the hows and whys of what he did, and didn't, do.  The information was new  but surprisingly coherent, fitting in neatly with events I had wondered about but not fully understood as they occurred.  Seeing our history in this new light changed things.  I no longer felt responsible.  My old remorse lifted. It was obvious to me, even in the dream, that Tim had come to lift that load.

After we had finished talking, we set out together on a wide boardwalk with long strings of golden lights on either side.  There was some kind of festival happening around us and I was happy in a way I'd almost forgotten.  I told him that he was right about the emotion.  "I can feel it," I said. "Can you?"

He didn't answer or if he did, I don't remember.  There was a knowing that our time was ending and that he had brought me back to where I was supposed to be.  When I woke up and considered the brilliance and the clarity of the dream, I knew that he had passed. 

I told my partner about the dream and what I thought it meant and then I pulled my laptop into bed and found the obituary online.  Tim's picture (above) showed the same beautiful smile I'd loved so long ago.  I saw that he had died in a hospice at the age of 53.  I was sad that I didn't know, that I couldn't have been there to help, but I was grateful to know that he had made it through okay.

Closing my laptop, it occurred to me, not for the first time, how multidimensional every act of spirit is.  In this instance a single dream had affected everyone involved.  I was lighter, more forgiving of my past, and stronger than I had been.  My partner had opened the door of skepticism if only by a crack.  And Tim had made amends.

Thank you for remembering me, as I remember you.

*To read about my first big dream of spirit please see "Dreams the Wandering Soul."

*Please note: This post has been temporarily moved to the top of the blog for the benefit of my good friend Marie :)

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Stairway to Heaven?


I'm not sure if this is the easiest way to see the heavens but I like the image.  It makes sense to me too - on a couple of levels.

This morning I woke up feeling really ill which may explain how hard the last couple of days have been. But it doesn't explain everything and the truth is that I have felt like I've been going against the current for some time now. 

I think that I might need some spiritual space so I've decided to take a break from the manuscript and  radio show and metaphysical group and just be for a while.

I won't be taking on any new classes or projects but will still be posting here, going to spirit circle and learning on my own - as always. I have never been a quitter (not even when I probably should be) but I'm hoping this break will provide some insight. 

Or time to get a few things done and enjoy Autumn :)

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

The Energy of Nature

I'm currently working with two books:  Phillip Carr-Gomm's Druid Mysteries and Penny Billington's The Path of Druidry.  Both are wonderful and I will be reviewing each of them when I get a little further along.  I will say now that both are practical as well as spiritual and I am following Penny's suggestions to the letter by getting in better touch with the land around my home.  

The following pictures are taken on the top of the mountain behind our house, on a small parcel of woods that lies between us and the development.  If I could have one thing it would be to buy it and keep it as is forever.

Bella at the top.

Birch behind a turning maple.
A perfect Autumn sky.

Monday, September 22, 2014

Welcome Autumn 2014!

Today on the equinox, day and night are equal.  But that isn't going to last.  The days are getting shorter.  Winter is on its way.  Today I saw a hawk flying in the most vivid of blue skies.  Two crows called - a winter sound if I ever heard one.  Life is always moving.  Always on its way to something else.  But there is something to be said for the moment, even as it passes. 

Today I realized that I always think of autumn in the context of a world on its way to winter.  For me that is not a bad thing - at least not entirely.  Winter is an uncomfortable season here in Northeastern PA but it is a beautiful one as well and it has a depth to it that other seasons lack.  Still this time, this season should be important in its own right and I should honor it as such.

So today I sat out side and thought about the turning trees, the falling leaves, the woodland debris on its way to becoming earth.  Summer seeding the land in a different sort of way.  Not sprouting but preparing.  Today the sky was blue and the sun was bright and I sat outside with my journal and mapped out a new course. 

This course includes more time out of doors and I intend to honor that commitment through the cold months and into spring.  As always I will blog about it <3

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Understanding our Beautiful Seasons

I just wanted to share this helpful diagram to remind us the natural science behind our amazing changing seasons!


Thursday, September 18, 2014

Tarot Reading: Druidcraft and Wildwood Combined Reading

This reading uses two of my favorite decks: the Druid Craft Tarot and the Wildwood.  I am going in a new direction, both in my writing and within the greater context of my spiritual experience and this reading addresses that.  I love everything about both these decks and they are great learning tool as well.  Note the Hermit (9) and wolf, Cerridwen as strength, the owl of Justice and the ship, very like the one I dreamt of recently, leaving my troubles far behind!

Monday, September 8, 2014

Full Moon in Pisces!

One thing I love about working late - the moon rising in the sky outside my office window.  This month's full moon is found in one of my favorite signs - Pisces.  Though by the time I snapped this pic it had already made its way into Aries.  Beautiful either way.




Friday, September 5, 2014

Astral Projection Update: Problems with Awareness

I'm currently taking a wonderful course on Astral Projection (Astral Projection Practical Intensive) and wanted to share a bit on my progress.  We are currently in Session 3 and, while I have not projected as of yet, I do feel I'm progressing. 

The course is given by OBE expert Robert Bruce.  It utilizes Robert ebook (free on his site at AstralDynamics.com) as well as the Hemi-Sync astral projection meditation CDs/MP3s produced by Robert Monroe.  Each session begins with several videos, as well as some text and recommended reading on the new material, and assigns a new and very specific level of astral practice.

All practices include daily energy work followed by the Hemi-Sync Meditation.  I am now using the second (or condition A) MP3 meditation and have been having some interesting experiences.  These include lots of tingling sensations, occasional feelings of expansion, and a few visions.  The visions have been interesting because they have been consistent.  I have seen archways, tunnels, roads, paths and a kind of moving tunnel where it appeared that I was rocketing through space with energy streaming by on either side.

My current challenge is that I'm going very deep in trance with the meditations and losing my awareness at times - though I don't really feel like I'm falling asleep. Yesterday I lost awareness and then became aware of being around people - which made me feel that I was dreaming.  In the dream, I was yelling "I want to fly" over and over. :) I did used to fly in dreams but haven't done so for some time.  Seems I might have missed it.

I feel very alert when I come back from these episodes of lost awareness (or checking / clicking out), not sleepy at all.  What worried me was the memory loss. I was concerned that I might be missing actual OBE activity or rather failing to remember it.  Robert believes we all astral project in dreams (for more on Robert's teachings please check out his interview on this topic here Astral Projection with Robert Bruce) and that the real challenge is to remember it.  

One of the great things about this course (and all the Glide Wing courses) is the forum component.  In it the instructor responds to questions on the material.  In a course like this is incredibly helpful.  Because of my concerns, I posted my problem with awareness  in the forum.

Robert got back to me immediately.  He said that these were good signs and that success should not be too far away.  He also recommended several things which I'm going to put into effect today.  They include:
  1. Increasing my slight discomfort level by using a hard backed chair against the wall with a small pillow to support my neck (and small footstool if needed).
  2. Restarting the CD if I do check / click out and repeating the  meditation.
  3. Getting adequate sleep.
  4. Continuing my practice daily.
Robert also has been encouraging me to utilize daily affirmations which he believes in whole-heatedly (more on that in the interview).  This isn't hard because I really do believe that I will successfully project provided I stick with it.  

I am getting so much out of this course!  I am also thrilled that when it ends I can be part of Robert's free community (Astral Dynamics Forum) and receive the support of others.  There is even a new special area for graduates of the course which I am really looking forward to joining!

Please check back soon. New articles are posted every week!